Tags

, ,

Let’s talk about them because they are both extremely important. Let’s talk about them because they both touch upon multiple areas of our lives. Let’s talk about them because combining the two in one conversation is supposedly taboo.

Why is that? Probably because conversations of this nature tend to breed disagreement and discord, even among close friends. And nobody wants that, least of all me. Yet, shouldn’t the very fact that religion and politics arouse such intense emotion and elicit such passionate viewpoints be an indicator that there is something here that desperately needs to be discussed? I think so.

It’s been well said that politics affects how we are living today and religion affects how we will live in eternity. I feel this is an oversimplification, but the point is valid. Even if we choose to ignore the political systems around us and their implications upon our lives, they still affect us. Ask someone who lives in North Korea if he/she is aware of how its country’s political system (read dictatorship) affects them. You bet your bottom dollar they are.

As for religion, it’s not only a future matter. It’s an everyday matter. Eternal denotes that which never comes to an end. The eternal is past, present and future. The eternal is now. And religion is that discussion.

This is the section of my blog where I plan to talk about religion and politics. I’m biased. If you’ve read my “about” page, you already know that I’m a Christian. I believe the Bible. Though the Bible is a religious book and its teaching spiritual, choosing to believe its words or choosing not to believe them will shape your thinking, your decision-making and ultimately, of course, your actions.

In other words, in the present context, what you believe or don’t believe also shapes your politics.

If you want to jump ahead and get a feel for where I’m coming from, check out my book, The Hidden Altar. It’s a novel which probes, in part, this question of the church/state dynamic.

